What is a weekend?!

2017 has been FLYING by! I cannot believe that January is nearly over! School started on the 9th, and I’ll be having my first quiz in just a few days! With all that being said, I constantly ask myself where is the time going?!

As a very busy graduate student, I spend 5 days at the school/clinic. 4 of these days, I am typically there from 7 am to 7 pm (mostly due to transportation issues). But nonetheless, I am hard at work. Yet, as productive as I may be, I still feel like there is more to do. Spending my time at school is good in that I can remain focused on my work, however it still gets boring very quickly. When I get home, it’s late, and all I want to do is eat, shower, finish my treatment notes, and sleep. Which means I push everything else to the weekend.

The weekends is where the rest of my life happens. It’s when I try to catch up on sleep, spend time with my cat, as well as prepare for the next week, go grocery shopping, and attempt to finish all other chores. During the weekends, I struggle to find any sort of motivation to even get out of bed! I then become easily distracted and make every excuse to get off task.

My apartment is a current reflection of my life, and that both embarrasses and startles me.  It looks like a tornado blew through my apartment. I try to keep up as best as I can, but not to make excuses for myself, it’s difficult to maintain. Living near a freeway is the WORST. Soot from cars blow in through the A/C I assume since I keep my windows closed. How do I know? I could Swiffer my floor every hour, and the cloth will always be black. Lint from who knows where blows through my air vent and ends up in my bath tub, thus clogging the drain. And I swear the loads of laundry and dishes to be washed are endless!

I constantly wish for more time during the day, but if I had more time, I’m not even sure if anything would change! Maybe I’d still be just as tired. Or maybe, I am terrible at planning out my day. We shall see what changes I can make this next month.

Leave a Reply

