A Gift

In the Origins portion of this blog, I wrote about my blessing of a cat, Beavis. He was and always will be an important member of my family.

As I previously described, losing Beavis was painful for my family and I. Nearly one year went by, and I finally decided to adopt a cat, Callie. In the beginning of December, my parents received a picture in a text with a very young and tiny grey kitten. My mother cried immediately, as she was reminded of Beavis. A few days later, the little bundle of joy came home. We named him Makana, which mean “gift” in Hawaiian.

Makana was found in a pile of bamboo on the side of the road in Kula. He was alone, with no sight of his mother or litter mates. The woman who found him canvased the neighborhood, asking if the cat belonged to anyone. He was very mellow and willing to be carried. Makana was taken into his founder’s home, given a eucalyptus and castile soap bath and fresh goat’s milk.

A few days later, Callie and I returned home from school. Initially, and as expected, Callie did not appreciate the new cat in the house. Over time, and with daily affirmations, Callie began to bond with Makana. In the morning, Callie now rushes to Makana’s “nursery” and wants for him to finish eating so they can play. Throughout the house you can hear them tumbling around and jumping off of my bead. They share their toys, bed, and food with each other. I am so glad that Callie has finally accepted Makana as part of the family, especially since the humane society said she does not like other cats. This experience has allowed both of them to grow.

Our hearts are so full and blessed.

Callie, Gabbie, Makana

Leave a Reply

