Gabbie Goes Fishing

When you live in Hawai’i like I do, the stereotype of “you must go to the beach every day” hovers like a cloud over you. People will be surprised to know that not everyone goes to the beach. We have jobs, we go to school, etc., so we may not always have the time. On top of that, some of us don’t live very close to the ocean. I for example live on the slope of Haleakala (a mountain). So going to the beach is very rare for me.

To the surprise of many, I also don’t surf, and just started fishing over my winter break in 2015/2016. I LOVE fishing! It’s a beautiful and memorable experience. The scenery is breathtaking and the water is so clear and blue.

I decided to give it a go since my boyfriend is an avid spear fisherman, and my cousin and uncle have been fishing for years. Plus, I figured, when in Hawai’i, do as the Hawaiians did. I immediately had a blast. I must admit though, my patience was definitely tested. Sometimes, you wait around hoping for something to bite, or you feel little nibbles and nothing is there. The fight is always a thrill for me because you never know what you’re gonna get. Lesson learned, I need to go to the gym more because even reeling in the little fish was A LOT of work!

Unfortunately during this trip, I didn’t have any fish to take home. On a rainy and windy day like it was, it was more of a disappointment to not take anything home. I did catch more than I thought I would, that is for sure, but I returned them all to the ocean because “Let ’em go, let ’em grow!”

I am definitely looking forward to my next trip. Heck, my pole is even rigged and ready to go!

Catch ya later!

 

Leave a Reply

